Commissioners approve modular home sales center in Peachland

Abby Cavenaugh

May 13, 2014

After a lengthy public hearing at the regular monthly meeting Monday night, the Anson County Board of Commissioners unanimously approved a conditional use permit that will allow Norris and Arthur Davis to locate a modular and manufactured home sales center on U.S. 74 West in Peachland.

The sales center will be located at 9961 U.S. 74 West, about 1,700 feet from Peachland-Polkton Elementary School. That area is currently zoned R-20, residential, but the conditional use permit allows for the HI, or heavy industrial, zoning change, specifically for the business, to be called Davis Family Homes.

There will be six model homes on site, county planner Josie Lodder said, and there will be space at the back of the property for no more than three used manufactured or modular homes.

When asked by the commissioners about the heavy industrial zoning, Lodder explained that no other zoning included this kind of use for a modular home sales business. Also, the conditional use permit sets conditions, meaning that only a manufactured or modular home sales center can operate on the property. “The conditional use is a protective entity for the county,” Lodder said. “If they want to add something else to it, they have to come back to you and ask for it. We have to have another public process, including a hearing, to make changes to the conditions.”

Commissioner Dr. Jim Sims expressed concerns about an increase in traffic, especially since the center will be in close proximity to the school, but Lodder explained that the homes will be constructed in a factory off-site, and delivered to each home site. Any transportation of model homes or used homes will be done after school hours, she added.

Norris Davis stated that he feels Anson County is the perfect location for a modular and manufactured home business. “My dad [Arthur Davis] is 96 years old and has been in the housing business all his life,” he said.

“I won’t sell any homes I wouldn’t live in myself,” Arthur Davis stated. “I won’t sell any junk.”

Norris Davis added that currently, those who wish to purchase a modular or manufactured home must travel at least 40 miles to the nearest sales center. Also, potential home buyers will utilize local services, such as furniture and appliance shops to select items for their homes, he pointed out.

After a discussion, the commissioners unanimously approved the request.

The commissioners also unanimously approved several fees for the new Anson County Animal Shelter, including a $100 adoption fee, a $25 plus $10 per day redemption/reclaim fee for animals that are temporarily housed at the shelter and a $50 fee for rabies citations, i.e., animals that are in violation of the rabies vaccination ordinance.

The commissioners also heard budget requests from:

  • The Anson County Historical Commission, for $5,000, which would include salaries, travel and miscellaneous expenses.
  • Victoria Whitt of the Sandhills Center, who asked for $55,000, the same amount the center has requested for the past 10 years.
  • Wadesboro Town Manager Alex Sewell and Fire Chief Marc Sessions, who requested a 2-cent increase in the fire tax to 7.6 cents. This would only apply to the Wadesboro Fire District.
  • Cindi Pope and Carly Little, on behalf of Taste of the Pee Dee, which organizers hope will be a festival to replace PeopleFest, on Oct. 11. Pope and Little agreed to put together a budget and submit it to County Manager Lawrence Gatewood.
  • Leslie Capell and Roe Boothby, on behalf of the Anson County Arts Council, seeking $25,000 to help the arts council continue its involvement in the county’s schools.
  • Eric Faulkner, on behalf of Union County Community Action, requesting $25,000 to help fund Head Start programs within the county.

The commissioners also unanimously approved the following appointments at their May meeting:

  • Jason Kiker from District 6 and Robbie Harrington from District 2 to the Anson Agricultural Advisory Board.
  • Phyllis Dunlap and Suzanne Carpenter to the CCOG joint community advisory committee.
  • Joyce Little and Cynthia Little to the town of Wadesboro planning and adjustment board.