Nearly 1,000 county residents turn out for early voting

Imari Scarbrough

April 30, 2014

One-Stop Early Voting is in full swing. By Tuesday morning, close to 1,000 citizens had cast their votes for May’s Primary.

As of 10 a.m. on Tuesday, 969 voters (not quite 6 percent of Anson’s 16,500 registered voters) had voted. Last Thursday was the first day of early voting, and 404 voters turned out on that day. On Friday, there were 243, and there were 115 on Saturday. Monday was the fourth day of early voting and 181 citizens voted.

Of the early voters, 15 were from Ansonville, 21 from Burnsville, 74 from Gulledge, 151 from Lilesville, 71 from Morven, 26 from Peachland, 19 from Polkton, 608 from Wadesboro, and one was from White Store.

The candidates

Several positions will be open for voting in the upcoming election, from senate seats to the office of the county sheriff, with 31 individuals running for office.

U.S. Senate

Several Republican candidates are running for Senate: Thom Tillis, Jim Snyder, Edward Kryn, Mark Harris, Heather Grant, Alex Lee Bradshaw, Greg Brannon, and Ted Alexander.

Three Democrats are running for the office: Will Stewart, Ernest T. Reeves, and incumbent Kay Hagan.

Libertarians Sean Haugh and Tim D’Annunzio are also running.

Board of Commissioners

Vancine Sturdivant, Robert J. Smith and George C. Hodge, all Democrats, are running for the District 2 seat on the county commissioners. No Republicans or Libertarians are running.

Incumbent Anna Baucom (D) is the only person running for the District 5 seat.

Board of Education

Five Democrats are running for an at-large seat on the Board of Education: Russell Sikes, Mary Taylor Moore, Joshua A. Leviner, and Marilynn Bennett. No Republicans or Libertarians are running.

Incumbent Lisa G. Davis (D) is the only individual runing for the District 4 seat.


Four candidates, all Democrats, are running for the office of sheriff: Mike Smith of Peachland, and Landric Reid, Ricky Little, and Josh Beam, all of Wadesboro.

Supreme Court Associate Justice (Hudson)

Three individuals are running for Supreme Court Associate Justice: Eric Levinson, Robin Hudson, and Jeanette Doran.

Voting times

Early voting will continue today through Friday from 6:30 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the new Board of Elections office. Early voting will end on Saturday, when citizens can vote anytime from 6:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Election Day will offer citizens a final chance to vote. The polls will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

The Board of Elections will hold a meeting to count and approve absentee ballots on May 6 at 2 p.m.