Board of Elections members resign, Williams sworn in

Imari Scarbrough

March 10, 2014

Two members of the Board of Elections resigned and one replacement was made during a special meeting on Monday.

Former secretary Brian Johnson and chairman Shawna Loftis both resigned, though for different reasons. Johnson is running for a position on the school board while Loftis recently purchased a new residence outside the county, causing both members to drop from the board.

Former board director Lillie Rochelle Williams was sworn in on Monday to replace Johnson. Lilesville Mayor Richard Harrington swore Williams into office. Williams was Board of Elections director for 17 years but has not served on the board recently until now. A replacement for Loftis has not yet been made.

With the addition of new members, the schedule for the board’s meeting also changed. Meetings will now be held on the second Tuesday of each month at 5 p.m.

In other business, the board held an executive session to discuss a personnel issue but did not take any action upon resuming open session. The board also discussed getting the word out to the community about absentee ballots being available for members of the military.

The board will not hold another meeting this month. Its next meeting will be on April 8 at 5 p.m.